Standing on a sandy mound, which used to be surrounded by water and marshland, is Linton Church. This mound has been a site of worship for over 900 years. It is a place of unique peace and spirituality. The mound and area has also given rise to two legends. The legend of the mound itself and the slaying of the Linton Worm. Through the legend and reality the church is associated with those who bear the name Somerville. Once separated from its neighbour Morebattle by a loch and marsh land Linton had a reasonable village presence. Today it is a rather sparsely populated area. The old parish stretched like a sausage from Morebattle east to the English border encompassing Hoselaw.
Excavations of the foundations have produced evidence that it was, at first, a rectangular nave with a semi-circular apse which was converted into a square chancel in 1426. Several alterations were carried out thereafter but today’s building dates from 1911 and like its predecessors it has no solid foundations.
There are some artefacts kept at the church. A Norman font with bowl and upper part of stem formed from one block of stone. A two sided sundial is outside in the south west corner, it is inscribed with the initials of Walter Douglas, minister 1698-1727 and is dated 1699. The chancel stalls are carved from 17th century oak with Arms from ruling families.
The porch door has been inset with the "Somervail Stone" showing a knight fighting two beasts which is a link to the story of the "Worm of Linton", this stone is Norman and is unique in Scotland.
The church is a favourite place for weddings with its idyllic and romantic setting. It is used quite often by the combined parish for special services.
Worship is on the 1st Sunday of the month at 11.15am and every Tuesday evening there is a mid-week service of prayers at 6.30pm.
It has a loop system. Access is challenging for wheelchairs because of the incline to the church but the church itself is wheelchair friendly.